Release files (assets)


Introduction

The release files are the actual assets that users can download. A release (version) can have multiple files: e.g. an installable zip file used for updating the products on your client websites, a pdf documentation file, a source code zip file, etc. Only the installation zip file is mandatory, as this will be the file provided when your users will request updates. The rest of the files in the release are optional and only available for other features you may want to develop in your product.

Create file

Files can be created by using the New button in the top toolbar, or by duplicating an existing file using the Duplicate button next to the file you want to duplicate from the files list. The new file details will be automatically filled in with the duplicated file details.

Edit file

You can edit the file by clicking on the Edit button next to the file you want to edit from the files list.

File details

When creating a new release file, or editing an existing one, the following fields are available:

Field Required Description
Version Yes This is the version to which this file is assigned to.
Name Yes Your file name, e.g. Installer, PDF Documentation, Source Code, etc. The file name must be unique for the selected version.
Description No If this is your installable file, you should enter here the installation or upgrade notes. Markdown allowed.
Publishing status Yes When published, the file will be available for download.
Upload file Yes This is the actual release file (your installation zip file, pdf documentation file, source code zip file, etc). Uploading a new file will replace the existing one (if any previously uploaded).

Filter files

Files can be filtered from the files list, by clicking on the Filter button in the top toolbar.

{warning} If you haven't uploaded any attachments to a release file, the file will be highlighted in the release files list and won't be used by the update channels when fetching the latest version details.

Delete file

Files can be deleted from the files list, by clicking on the Delete link next to the file you want to delete, or from the file editing page. Once you delete a file and if the file is the installation zip, the update channel will automatically revert to serving the older product version (if any) as being the latest available version for updates.

{danger} Deleted items are not recoverable. This action is permanent and can't be undone.