Versions (Releases)


Introduction

When a new version of your product is available, you'll first have to create a new version on UpdaterCloud and provide the version details, e.g. the version number and release notes/changes. Later we'll see that each new version can have multiple files assigned, e.g. an installable zip file used for updating the products on your client websites, a pdf documentation file, a source code zip file, etc.

Create new version

Versions can be created by using the New button in the top toolbar, or by duplicating an existing version using the Duplicate button next to the version you want to duplicate from the versions list. The new version details will be automatically filled in with the duplicated version details.

{warning} By default, all new versions created will be unpublished (unreleased). A version can only be published (released) if it has at least one release file published.

Edit version

You can edit the version by clicking on the Edit button next to the version you want to edit from the versions list.

Version details

When creating a new version, or editing an existing one, the following fields are available:

Field Required Description
Product Yes This is the product to which this version is assigned to.
Name Yes Your version number. We recommend using standard version naming, like 1.2.3, 1.2.3-alpha1, 1.2.3-beta2, 1.2.3-rc2, etc. The version name must be unique for the selected product.
Maturity Yes The version maturity: dev, alpha, beta, release candidate or stable.
Release notes No Changes and bugfixes made in this version. Markdown allowed.
Publishing status Yes When published, the version will be available in update channels.

Filter versions

Versions can be filtered from the versions list, by clicking on the Filter button in the top toolbar.

{warning} If you haven't created any release files for a version, the version will be highlighted in the versions list and won't be used by the update channels when fetching the latest version details.

Delete version

Versions can be deleted from the versions list, by clicking on the Delete link next to the version you want to delete, or from the version editing page. You won't be able to delete a version if it still has files assigned.

{danger} Deleted items are not recoverable. This action is permanent and can't be undone.